Structure of Messiah

Part I: The Annunciation and The Nativity

The prophesy and realization of God’s plan to redeem mankind by the coming of a Messiah.

No. 1. Overture

Scene 1: The Prophecy of Salvation

No. 2. Recit (Tenor): Comfort ye my people (Isaiah 40:1–3)
No. 3. Air (Tenor): Every valley shall be exalted (Isaiah 40:4)
No. 4. Chorus: And the glory of the Lord (Isaiah 40:5)

Scene 2: The Prophecy of the manner of Salvation, in the the coming of a Messiah

No. 5. Recit (Bass): Thus saith the Lord (Haggai 2:6, 7; Malachi 3:1)
No. 6. Air (Alto): But who may abide (Malachi 3:2)
No. 7. Chorus: And He shall purify (Malachi 3:3)

Scene 3: The Prophecy of the manner of the Messiah’s coming, through Virgin Birth

No. 8. Recit (Alto): Behold, a Virgin shall conceive (Isaiah 7:14; Matthew 1:23)
No. 9. Air (Alto) and Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings (Isaiah 40:9; 60:1)

Scene 4: The Prophecy of the manner of the Nativity of the Christ

No. 10. Recit (Bass): For, behold, darkness shall cover the earth (Isaiah 60:2, 3)
No. 11. Air (Bass): The people that walked in darkness (Isaiah 9:2)
No. 12. Chorus: For unto us a child is born (Isaiah 9:6)

Scene 5: The Nativity of Christ: Christmas

No. 13. Pifa (Pastoral Symphony)
No. 14. Recit (Soprano): There were shepherds abiding in the field (Luke 2:8)
No. 15. Recit (Soprano): And the angel said unto them (Luke 2:10, 11)
No. 16. Recit (Soprano): And suddenly there was with the angel (Luke 2:13)
No. 17. Chorus: Glory to God (Luke 2:14)
No. 18. Air (Soprano): Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Zechariah 9:9, 10)

Scene 6: Christ’s miracles

No. 19. Recit (Alto): Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened (Isaiah 35:5, 6)
No. 20. Air (Alto): He shall feed his flock (Isaiah 40:11)
Air (Soprano): Come unto Him (Matthew 11:28, 29)
No. 21. Chorus: His yoke is easy, and His burthen light (Matthew 11:30)

Part II: The Passion, The Resurrection, The Ascension, and Pentecost

The sacrifice of Jesus; mankind’s rejection of God’s offer; and its defeat when to opposing the Almighty.

Scene 1: Icon of the Lamb

No. 22. Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God (John 1:29)
No. 23. Air (Alto): He was despised (Is 53:3, 50:6)

Scene 2: The Passion

No. 24. Chorus: Surely He hath borne our griefs (Is 53:4–5)
No. 25. Chorus: And with His stripes we are healed (Is 53:5)
No. 26. Chorus: All we like sheep have gone astray (Is 53:6)

Scene 3: The Crucifixion

No. 27. Recit (Tenor): All they that see Him laugh Him to scorn (Ps 22:7)
No. 28. Chorus: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him (Ps 22:8)
No. 29. Recit (Tenor): Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (Ps 69:20)
No. 30. Air (Tenor): Behold, and see if there be any sorrow (Lamen 1:12)

Scene 4: His death, His passing through Hell, and His Resurrection

No. 31. Recit (Tenor): He was cut off out of the land of the living (Is 53:8)
No. 32. Air (Tenor): But Thou didst not leave His soul in Hell (Ps 16:10)
No. 33. Chorus: Lift up your heads, o ye gates (Ps 24:7–10)

Scene 5: “Noli me tangere”: The Resurrected Christ

No. 34. Recit (Tenor): Unto which of the Angels said He (Heb 1:5)
No. 35. Chorus: Let all the angels of God worship Him (Heb 1:6)

Scene 6: The Ascension

No. 36. Air (Alto): Thou art gone up on high (Ps 68:18)
No. 37. Chorus: The Lord gave the Word (Ps 68:11)

Scene 7: The beginning of evangelism after Pentecost

No. 38. Air (Soprano): How beautiful are the feet of them (Rom 10:15)
No. 39. Chorus: Their sound is gone out into all lands (Rom 10:18)

Scene 8: The world and its rulers reject the Gospel

No. 40. Air (Bass): Why do the nations so furiously rage (Ps 2:1, 2)
No. 41. Chorus: Let us break their bonds asunder (Ps 2:3)

Scene 9: God’s triumph over the Heathen and the primacy of Christendom

No. 42. Recit (Tenor): He that dwelleth in heaven (Ps 2:4)
No. 43. Air (Tenor): Thou shalt break them (Ps 2:9)
No. 44. Chorus: Hallelujah (Rev 19:6; 11:15; 19:6)

Part III: The End of Days

A Hymn of Thanksgiving for the final overthrow of Death

Scene 1: The Promise of Redemption from Adam’s Fall

No. 45. Air (Soprano): I know that my Redeemer liveth (Job 19:25–6; 1 Cor 15:20)
No. 46. Chorus: Since by man came death (1 Cor 15:21)

Scene 2: Judgment Day

No. 47. Recit (Bass): Behold, I tell you a mystery (1 Cor 15:51, 52)
No. 48. Air (Bass): The trumpet shall sound (1 Cor 15:52, 53)

Scene 3: The Final Victory over Death and Sin

No. 49. Recit (Alto): Thus shall be brought to pass (1 Cor 15:54)
No. 50. Duet (Alto and Tenor): O Death, where is thy sting? (1 Cor 15:55, 56)
No. 51. Chorus: But thanks be to God (1 Cor 15:57)

Scene 4: Icon of Christ in Majesty

No. 52. Air (Soprano): If God be for us, who can be against us? (Rom 8:31, 33, 34)
No. 53. Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain (Rom 5:12, 13)

17. July 2012 by Matthew Hall
Categories: Articles | Tags: | 1 comment